MacMall - Your #1 Apple Superstore
1
2
3
4
1
2
3
4
1
2
3
4

Customer Reviews          Home >  Customer Reviews

Apple Mac mini quad-core Intel Core i7 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
(Mac mini quad-core Intel Core i7 2.6GHz (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz), 4GB (two 2GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 memory, 1TB Fusion drive, Intel HD Graphics 4000, 802.11n Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI, SDXC card slot, Thunderbolt)
9 Reviews
5 Star:
(9)
4 Star:
(0)
3 Star:
(0)
2 Star:
(0)
1 Star:
(0)

Average Customer Review

rating  (9 Customer Reviews)

Share your thoughts with other customers

Write a review



Awesome little machine

2013-04-07
By Renaissance Nerd

I had a first generation Intel iMac for the last six years, mainly because I was holding out for a 27" iMac and wouldn't settle for a Mini. Well this generation of Mac Mini isn't settling, though the monitor I have isn't as good as a 27" Apple monitor. It's bigger though, so that's something.

I have an i5 dual-core laptop provided by work and a home-built AMD 4.2GHz quad-core Win7 machine that are also connected to the same monitor and keyboard, so I have ample time to compare them with each other.

The quad-i7 in the Mini smokes the laptop hands down. The Mini is about twice as fast in general, and even faster on the graphics side of the fence. I haven't played any games on my laptop, so I can't compare it in that regard, but it's a work computer, not meant for games anyway.

The AMD machine is slightly slower in some areas, though it's really just a gaming machine so I don't do much with it day-to-day, but I did some work on it just to compare. It's only barely noticeable, but especially with Photoshop I could tell. The AMD is better for games, though; it's an APU but I already had a pretty good video card which I'm using (Radeon 5570) which while far from top of the line is enough to run Diablo III on high level graphics while the Mini has to go mid-level.

The transfer of data from my old iMac went without a hitch and it hit the ground running. I don't love it as much as I did the iMac when it was as new, but it's close. It's just plain awesome, if you don't mind a little 80s lingo. And having 16GB of RAM is such a relief after living with 3GB for so long.

I highly recommend the Fusion Drive that I got with mine; I have an older Mini with a 5400 RPM drive and that was one reason I didn't switch to a Mini for so long. The iMac is 2.16GHz and the old Mini 2GHz, but the Minis is half the speed at best in many fairly common operations. This Fusion Drive just makes that fear irrelevant. I haven't noticed a single issue with the many large copies and other disk-intensive operations I've done so far, though I daresay the initial copy from the iMac to the Mini would've been much faster with a 7200rpm drive. Still, it works pretty smart, and overall I'm loving it.

The only real problem I've hit is that the Blu-Ray writer I put into an external case to work with my Mini is not Mac compatible. Should've done the research BEFORE buying it, but I swapped it back into my AMD machine so it's not a total waste.

I recommend the new quad-i7 Mini with a Fusion Drive very highly. It is a whole lot of power in a very small package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Super performance in a small package

2013-03-21
By Jeff

If you have all of the peripherals (and most of you do), this is a great way to update your performance to the current standard.

After using a mid-2009 MBP 17 for years, I was astonished at how slow it was after I played with the Mini for a while. Example: Handbrake encoding on the MBP ran at 20-30 fps; on the Mini (2.6 quad I7) it ran 100+ fps.

Of course this machine (and any other you choose to purchase) is obsolete the day you purchase it. But death and taxes are inevitable as well.

I chose to max this machine out with 16G and an Apple Fusion drive, which I have not had enough experience with to really comment on, except that startup time is much faster than with regular HDDs (although the newest Mtn Lion update has noticeably slowed shutdown and restart times for some unknown reason.)

All in all I think this is a very good little machine. Should keep me going for another 4 years at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Mini Quad I7

2013-02-26
By Tim

I had a 2009 Imac, 24in., with 8 gig of ram. It has served me well and still works perfectly. I decided to upgrade and wanted a smaller unit that would work with the new 27in, thunderbolt display. I have not been disappointed. The fusion drive blows away the old Mac, and the computer, despite its size, works flawlessly. I added more memory through another vender and now have maxed out at 16 gig. I am not a gamer, but I use the Mac for my photography business. It works well and has a small foot print. Well worth the investment at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Fantastic

2013-02-19
By Vm

I don't know how I lived without a desktop for so long. This computer has been phenomenal and changed my daily computing drastically...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Mac Mini quad core - 1TB Fusion Drive

2013-01-31
By James

I'm using the new mini as I write the review. It is very fast. I primarily use it for Photo Shop with a 23" Apple Cinema display. I would estimate based on a number of programs that it is 5 times faster than my old work horse dual processor Mac G5. With the new fusion drive it boots up in about 15 seconds and recent programs open almost immediately. Cost me a great deal to upgrade all my programs but it should be worth it in the future. I used an external hard drive to transfer about 200GB of files from the G5. I don't do games so the graphic processor works fine for Photo Shop, etc. I estimate that it took me about 8 to 10 hours to get everything set up over a couple of days. I was on the internet with my home network with in the 1st hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Fast!

2013-01-10
By Kalen Jones

Bought this to replace a 2008 Mac Pro for CAD and graphics work. Upgraded with 16 gb 3rd party RAM. Wow! Fusion is so fast. I was a little concerned about integrated graphics for my application, but so far so good. Graphics work noticeably better w/ more RAM, even in non-work applications. I didn't realize how loud the Mac Pro was until I was switching between the two; the silence of the mini is such a relief. Does heat up pretty fast under heavy load, so it remains to be seen how it fairs with tasks that max out all cores for extended periods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Wicked Fast

2012-12-01
By Mickey 49

The two words that describe this version of the Mac Mini are "Wicked Fast." I've had this computer for just a week but after being a Mac user since 1985 this has to be the fastest I've ever owned. I have owned an early iMac 2009 model with 8GB RAM that I am currently gauging the Mini against and there is no comparison. The new Mini just screams circles around the iMac.

Apple Well Done! I do miss the optical drive and the camera the iMac has. However, I also own a RW-DVD player and will use it in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


MacMini

2012-11-28
By JCunningham

The 2012 MacMini is a high-perfomer in a small package. With the i7 chip set and the Fusion Drive, its fast and responsive. With Mountain Lion, its stable and powerful. Lots to like in a compact form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Great computer

2012-11-20
By Mark

I bought the 1TB fusion drive and runs as fast as my Macbook Air. I opted for the 4GB ram...runs great with that and it's cheaper to buy my own 16GB upgrade down the road. Works awesome with a thunderbolt drive and monitor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    

< This Product
Mac mini quad-core Intel Core i7 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
by Apple
  (9)

Call Us
Accessories
Microsoft
Sculpt Comfort Desktop - Keyboard and mouse set - 2.4 GHz - English - North American layout
by Microsoft
No Reviews
$79.95
$57.99
Usually Ships Same Day
Microsoft
Sculpt Ergonomic Desktop
by Microsoft
No Reviews
$129.95
$106.99
Usually Ships Same Day

 

Get exclusive discounts on your favorite Apple products today!

Your Biggest Source for Everything Apple!

MacMall is the #1 Apple Direct Reseller. We sell more Apple-branded products than any other direct Apple reseller. Since 1987, MacMall has been supplying Mac computers, Mac software, iPods, iPad accessories, and more Apple brand products and consumer electronics to consumers, businesses, and creative professionals.

At MacMall, we understand the increasing demand for the best quality consumer products at huge discounted prices. That's why we are proud to offer the lowest prices on our extensive selection of best-selling products, and hard-to-find Mac and iPod products you crave. Get yourself the new iPad or the new Apple TV for your family. Looking to upgrade your MacBook? Or just want to find out the best suited iPod/iPhone accessories for your hot gadget? Keep your iPad up-to-date with function and technology with our line of top-brand iPad accessories. Compare brands. Equip your Apple products.

More than the innovative products, MacMall goes beyond commerce and into affordable, high-quality business solutions. From customized business sites to financing & leasing to software licensing, technology certifications, configuration services, packaged service programs, and more. Enjoy easy management, easy installation, and easy implementation. Discover a whole new way to create and re-create your business.

Plus, with our 24/7 customer service hotline, we're always just a phone call away no matter when you want to reach us. Get the MacMall Advantage. Don’t miss out on the best deals, special prices, rebate savings, exclusive bundles, and dedicated service you won’t find anywhere else!

Company

About Us
MacMall Blog
The Mall Report
Business Direct Login
Careers
Join Our Affiliate Network
MacMall Business Solutions
MacMall Advantage
Terms of Use and Sale
Privacy Policy
Site Map

Customer Service

Contact Us
Rebates
Subscribe
Unsubscribe
Order Status

Follow Us

 
Apple Authorized Reseller Entrust bbb Tool Twist

Participating store

1940 E. Mariposa Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245 800.MACMALL ©   MacMall