Customer Reviews      Home >  Customer Reviews

Apple USB SuperDrive
(Compact and convenient, the Apple USB SuperDrive connects to your MacBook Pro with Retina display, MacBook Air, or Mac mini with a single USB cable and fits easily into a travel bag. It lets you install software and play and burn both CDs and DVDs.)
59 Reviews
5 Star:
(46)
4 Star:
(10)
3 Star:
(1)
2 Star:
(1)
1 Star:
(1)

Average Customer Review

rating  (59 Customer Reviews)

Share your thoughts with other customers

Write a review

Most Useful First  |  Most Recent First << Previous  |  Page 6 of 6  |  Next >>


Adorable little drive

2013-11-21
By TK

It works as advertised, probably best with Macs. It is disturbing that it contains no mechanical means of removing a disk in the event of a freeze up or drive failure. It hasn't happened yet, but I always expect the worst. Otherwise, it works as advertised and is pretty fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Superdrive

2013-07-23
By Robert Ragan

Works great. Just a hassle to carry with you. Don't need a disk often when traveling, but the fear is there. What to do if you need a disk? Product is quality and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Apple USB SuperDrive

2013-07-13
By Cindy Wahlig

I'm very pleased with the Apple USB SuperDrive - the compact design and slim profile takes up very little space on my desk. This is truly a "plug & play" device...just connect the cable to a USB port, allow your computer to recognize the device, and you're ready to go. I used the drive to load my CD collection into iTunes - it was extremely easy. It's worth mentioning that this drive is quiet, a real bonus for an external piece of hardware. I'd recommend this to anyone that may need to use a backup disk for loading software, may want to upload music from a CD, or you may want to burn a disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Apple USB Superdrive CD/DVD Drive

2013-07-02
By Lynn Cantwell

Quick search response and seamless access thru Mac Pro, as good as a built-in. Good, reliable burn. Love USB power! USB cable too short: Ejecting disk bumps into mouse pad or other items that also need to be close to the computer. 3 foot cable would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Great performance, a little awkward

2013-06-27
By Kris Ware

This thing is great if you are used to having a CD drive in your computer. Easy to use and performs well. The ONLY issue I have with it (hence the 4 star rating) is sometimes you load a disc and it gets caught on the way in and won't go in all the way...you have to have it perfectly flat in order for it to load correctly. Other than that works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Does the trick

2013-01-31
By Mark DeLano

Had to buy one because they ditched the internal. This one performs fine, is quiet, reasonably fast, and looks nice. It doesn't do BluRay but costs less and I don't really do much video watching at my computer. I use it primarily for loading music off of CDs and loading medical imaging into Osirix viewers. I also loaded Adobe CS6 and MS Office with it, so it has other utility for me. I don't fully buy reliance on my variable comcast cable ISP for fast downloads, particularly on a weekend afternoon when bandwidth to my neighborhood is consumed.
I would buy this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


USB SuperDrive - Still missing BD & USB3

2012-07-10
By rabell

Two missing items with this drive especially in light of it's price.
1. USB 3.0
2. Blue ray Disk reading

DVDs are becoming standard for data, but BD is pretty common for movies.

Also, in light of the new USB 3 ports on the new MacBooks, i would have expect this to be USB 3, at least as an option.

Other than these issue, the drive works ok. I still have not had a chance to try writing data or audio, but otherwise, the bandwidth seems ok and it reads most of the disks I have tried. There are several DVDs that it would not read, but I'm not sure what the reason is. Perhaps something wrong with those disks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


DVD does not eject

2012-09-28
By Theresa Short

I just received my new computer and USB Superdrive. I inserted a DVD and it will not eject. I have to go the the Apple store to get the problem resolved. Hopefully it is a simple solution !! Thanks, Terry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


USB SupErdrive for iMac

2015-03-30
By Loring Palmer

This unit does NOT solve the problem of playing DVD's that won't play on the interior iMac player.For this you need a "SLIM PORTABLE DVD WRITER"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    

Most Useful First  |  Most Recent First << Previous  |  Page 6 of 6  |  Next >>
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Apple
AirPort Express Base Station
by Apple
  (16)
99.00
$92.99
FedEx Overnight $4.99
Ground Shipping $2.99
Usually Ships Next Day