MacMall - Your #1 Apple Superstore
1
2
3
4
1
2
3
4
1
2
3
4

Customer Reviews          Home >  Customer Reviews

LaCie 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt - Refurbished
(Thunderbolt Technology in the palm of your hand. Featuring a preconfigured RAID0 striped set with hard disks through the 10Gb/s Thunderbolt interface, it delivers astonishing transfer rates.)
14 Reviews
5 Star:
(10)
4 Star:
(3)
3 Star:
(1)
2 Star:
(0)
1 Star:
(0)

Average Customer Review

rating  (14 Customer Reviews)

Share your thoughts with other customers

Write a review

Most Useful First  |  Most Recent First << Previous  |  Page 1 of 2  |  Next >>


Pretty Fast Drive

2013-04-09
By KJP

The little 2bg Thunderbolt drive works well for back-ups with Time machine and Carbon Copy Cloner. I repartitioned the drive away from raid to be able to use all 2tb of its capacity.
Backups are very fast with this drive (not as fast as I'd like-but faster than Firewire was).
The drive works great. As others have mentioned the drives fans sometimes get a little noisy, but not so much that I'd say it is a major issue - they can just be heard at times - otherwise it remains silent.
Overall I'm very happy with the purchase now at over a week of use things look very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


LaCie Little Big Disk - Thunderbolt

2013-04-03
By Tony

Excellent performing drive with great store service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Fast external space

2013-04-02
By Drew Golden

The face of disk technology has evolved over the years and now mobile / laptop users are faced with an array of good choices. For example, it's now affordable to consider replacing the internal HDD with SSD (something I highly encourage you to consider.) However SSDs come with a capacity shortfall that may leave you needing additional space. Such was the boat I was in when I replaced my internal 750gb HDD with a 512gb SSD - I needed additional space - and I wanted the space to be fast. Until now, we were faced with USB disks which are dismally slow to the point of being adequate for just backups, and some opted for the slightly faster FW800 disks, which were good, but under no terms would you call them fast. Enter today, with the affordable factory refurbished LaCie 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt. It ships configured as Raid 0 - which means you have two disks to read and write across (more disks means faster access to data) and a thunderbolt interface which offers untapped speeds. In use, you can run multiple virtual machines from the external disk with slightly better performance than I achieved running them from the internal HDD. While it's not as fast as SSD, that's not the objective - this is about lots of fast space. And this is what you get. A few notes of caution; always unmount the disk before unplugging - the RAID0 configuration makes them a little sensitive to careless unmounting. Other than that - it's two tb, it's thunderbolt, it's fast, and it's small enough to travel with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


A good, but not great product

2013-02-07
By Jimmy

I was excited about the idea of going to a Thunderbolt compatible drive for my backups. It is significantly faster than my USB 2.0 drive. I was very surprised with the noise level. I expected it to be silent like my STD drive Macbook Pro. It sounds like a jet is taking off in my office. Other than that, it is a good back up drive. I am looking forward to seeing Thunderbolt technology prices drop - that is why I am supporting it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


WHuuuuT? I can't hear you!!!

2013-02-03
By Michael Balasko

Sooo.... I bought the 2TB LBD. It's fast - Using blackmagic in RAID0 I test at over 190MB/s read/write. Not bad for 5400 RPM drives.

The downside? Its LOUD. My office is a zen,apple heaven. That means no clutter, no big fans on "PC's", nothing that would annoy me over the long term.

This LBD sounds like my macbook pro when the fan is on high. Always. It's fracking annoying. So. If you like your computer accessories loud then this is the drive for you. If you are old, grumpy and want to edit your photography in a zen like place, then you are going to be irritated by this drive.

Boo on LaCie......

Performance 5 stars
Annoying fan 1 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


2TB Lacie Little Big Disk

2013-01-19
By Joe

Pro's: Insanely fast transfer speeds. Several Gigabytes per minute speeds! Can more than max out the speed of even SSD disks. Daisy chaining (RAID) more than one of these units together on the Thunderbolt bus actually INCREASES the transfer speed. It transfers "small" files below 25MB so fast you have to double check to be certain it actually happened !

Pro: the case is quite high quality and the optional foot pedestal is rock solid and gives the unit a surprisingly low center of gravity.

Pro: I bought the refurb unit at a dramatic discount, looks brand new, running perfect for several weeks now. I really like it.

Cons: not really a con, just a buyer beware: It does have some fan noise, about 60db according to my little iphone app meter, and I don't think it's variable speed. Not harsh but if you are insistent on absolute silence to match your Mac Mini, etc, you will want to plan to locate this somewhere besides the desktop. I have it on a little file cabinet beside my desk and I have to strain to hear it. Does sort of defeat the otherwise asthetically pleasing nature of it a bit I suppose.

Con: the blue light is cool, but the speeds are so fast it's rather pointless. If you have it on the desktop in dark lighting it can be a bit annoying. Could easily solve with a little piece of opaque tape or just point it away from you. Luckily the little thunderbolt cable and the back of the unit is still ergonomically pleasing, so you could even point it backwards and it's not unsightly. Lacie should include a little utility to control it's brightness.

Overall a big fan of the form factor of these Lacie disk boxes. Probably the neatest look I've seen, very sturdy and very functional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Excellent

2013-01-11
By Ben

Works amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


LaCie 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt - Refurbished

2012-12-11
By George

Fast, solid. The unit I received is noisy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Very very impressed! with Lacie 2TB Thunderbolt HD

2012-11-06
By Paul Anderson

You should include the Thunderbolt cable with the drive. Something I’m accustomed to when purchasing a new HD. The speed is like moving from horseback to a car..... that fast. Now I know what 10gbs data flow is like, I’ll never be able to be impressed by Firewire again! The size is as small as a my old Sony Datman. I want another one! i give it ***** stars.

The packing was equally impressive. Eggshell foam just like you’d find on the walls of a recording studio, firm solid cushioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Fast!

2012-10-24
By Jeff

At the refurb price this is a bargain. I took the slow rotating disks out of mine and put in a pair of SSDs.

Unit is easy to disassemble and work on.

Noisy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    

Most Useful First  |  Most Recent First << Previous  |  Page 1 of 2  |  Next >>
< This Product
2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt - Refurbished
by LaCie
  (14)

Call Us
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Synology
DS713+ NAS 2BAY ALL-IN-1
by Synology
No Reviews
$554.99
Usually Ships Next Day
 

Get exclusive discounts on your favorite Apple products today!

Your Biggest Source for Everything Apple!

MacMall is the #1 Apple Direct Reseller. We sell more Apple-branded products than any other direct Apple reseller. Since 1987, MacMall has been supplying Mac computers, Mac software, iPods, iPad accessories, and more Apple brand products and consumer electronics to consumers, businesses, and creative professionals.

At MacMall, we understand the increasing demand for the best quality consumer products at huge discounted prices. That's why we are proud to offer the lowest prices on our extensive selection of best-selling products, and hard-to-find Mac and iPod products you crave. Get yourself the new iPad or the new Apple TV for your family. Looking to upgrade your MacBook? Or just want to find out the best suited iPod/iPhone accessories for your hot gadget? Keep your iPad up-to-date with function and technology with our line of top-brand iPad accessories. Compare brands. Equip your Apple products.

More than the innovative products, MacMall goes beyond commerce and into affordable, high-quality business solutions. From customized business sites to financing & leasing to software licensing, technology certifications, configuration services, packaged service programs, and more. Enjoy easy management, easy installation, and easy implementation. Discover a whole new way to create and re-create your business.

Plus, with our 24/7 customer service hotline, we're always just a phone call away no matter when you want to reach us. Get the MacMall Advantage. Don’t miss out on the best deals, special prices, rebate savings, exclusive bundles, and dedicated service you won’t find anywhere else!

Company

About Us
MacMall Blog
The Mall Report
Business Direct Login
Careers
Join Our Affiliate Network
MacMall Business Solutions
MacMall Advantage
Terms of Use and Sale
Privacy Policy
Site Map

Customer Service

Contact Us
Rebates
Subscribe
Unsubscribe
Order Status
Live Chat

Follow Us

 
Apple Authorized Reseller Entrust bbb Tool Twist

Participating store

1940 E. Mariposa Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245 800.MACMALL © 2015 MacMall