MacMall - Your #1 Apple Superstore
1
2
3
4
1
2
3
4
1
2
3
4

Customer Reviews          Home >  Customer Reviews

LaCie 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt - Refurbished
(Thunderbolt Technology in the palm of your hand. Featuring a preconfigured RAID0 striped set with hard disks through the 10Gb/s Thunderbolt interface, it delivers astonishing transfer rates.)
14 Reviews
5 Star:
(10)
4 Star:
(3)
3 Star:
(1)
2 Star:
(0)
1 Star:
(0)

Average Customer Review

rating  (14 Customer Reviews)

Share your thoughts with other customers

Write a review

Most Useful First  |  Most Recent First << Previous  |  Page 1 of 2  |  Next >>


Pretty Fast Drive

2013-04-09
By KJP

The little 2bg Thunderbolt drive works well for back-ups with Time machine and Carbon Copy Cloner. I repartitioned the drive away from raid to be able to use all 2tb of its capacity.
Backups are very fast with this drive (not as fast as I'd like-but faster than Firewire was).
The drive works great. As others have mentioned the drives fans sometimes get a little noisy, but not so much that I'd say it is a major issue - they can just be heard at times - otherwise it remains silent.
Overall I'm very happy with the purchase now at over a week of use things look very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


LaCie Little Big Disk - Thunderbolt

2013-04-03
By Tony

Excellent performing drive with great store service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Fast external space

2013-04-02
By Drew Golden

The face of disk technology has evolved over the years and now mobile / laptop users are faced with an array of good choices. For example, it's now affordable to consider replacing the internal HDD with SSD (something I highly encourage you to consider.) However SSDs come with a capacity shortfall that may leave you needing additional space. Such was the boat I was in when I replaced my internal 750gb HDD with a 512gb SSD - I needed additional space - and I wanted the space to be fast. Until now, we were faced with USB disks which are dismally slow to the point of being adequate for just backups, and some opted for the slightly faster FW800 disks, which were good, but under no terms would you call them fast. Enter today, with the affordable factory refurbished LaCie 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt. It ships configured as Raid 0 - which means you have two disks to read and write across (more disks means faster access to data) and a thunderbolt interface which offers untapped speeds. In use, you can run multiple virtual machines from the external disk with slightly better performance than I achieved running them from the internal HDD. While it's not as fast as SSD, that's not the objective - this is about lots of fast space. And this is what you get. A few notes of caution; always unmount the disk before unplugging - the RAID0 configuration makes them a little sensitive to careless unmounting. Other than that - it's two tb, it's thunderbolt, it's fast, and it's small enough to travel with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


2TB Lacie Little Big Disk

2013-01-19
By Joe

Pro's: Insanely fast transfer speeds. Several Gigabytes per minute speeds! Can more than max out the speed of even SSD disks. Daisy chaining (RAID) more than one of these units together on the Thunderbolt bus actually INCREASES the transfer speed. It transfers "small" files below 25MB so fast you have to double check to be certain it actually happened !

Pro: the case is quite high quality and the optional foot pedestal is rock solid and gives the unit a surprisingly low center of gravity.

Pro: I bought the refurb unit at a dramatic discount, looks brand new, running perfect for several weeks now. I really like it.

Cons: not really a con, just a buyer beware: It does have some fan noise, about 60db according to my little iphone app meter, and I don't think it's variable speed. Not harsh but if you are insistent on absolute silence to match your Mac Mini, etc, you will want to plan to locate this somewhere besides the desktop. I have it on a little file cabinet beside my desk and I have to strain to hear it. Does sort of defeat the otherwise asthetically pleasing nature of it a bit I suppose.

Con: the blue light is cool, but the speeds are so fast it's rather pointless. If you have it on the desktop in dark lighting it can be a bit annoying. Could easily solve with a little piece of opaque tape or just point it away from you. Luckily the little thunderbolt cable and the back of the unit is still ergonomically pleasing, so you could even point it backwards and it's not unsightly. Lacie should include a little utility to control it's brightness.

Overall a big fan of the form factor of these Lacie disk boxes. Probably the neatest look I've seen, very sturdy and very functional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Excellent

2013-01-11
By Ben

Works amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Very very impressed! with Lacie 2TB Thunderbolt HD

2012-11-06
By Paul Anderson

You should include the Thunderbolt cable with the drive. Something I’m accustomed to when purchasing a new HD. The speed is like moving from horseback to a car..... that fast. Now I know what 10gbs data flow is like, I’ll never be able to be impressed by Firewire again! The size is as small as a my old Sony Datman. I want another one! i give it ***** stars.

The packing was equally impressive. Eggshell foam just like you’d find on the walls of a recording studio, firm solid cushioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


2 TB Little Disk Thunderbolt

2012-08-09
By ddm

Item works very well. Very fast. I installed Mountain Lion on a Raid0 setup and it boots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


The Little Disk That Can

2012-07-29
By Rodrigo

I must admit that I was a little leery of buying a refurbished hard drive setup, but have been up and running just fine now for a few weeks. I use the Little Big Disk mostly as a Time Machine backup disk and for that it works very well. It's quick and I never even notice that it's running, so it's not a resource hog.

The Thunderbolt interface works as advertised and allows the drive to reach some amazing performance levels, reducing the time for the initial backup to complete dramatically.

As a few others have noted, the fan for the drives is a bit on the noisy side. It won't rattle the windows or anything like that, but you will definitely notice that it's running.

So far, it's been a great addition to my desktop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


Finally an affordable Thunderbolt HD

2012-07-17
By Howie Burch

When the store offered this refurbished 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt HD I jumped at the offer. I’m using it with my MacBook Air and it’s super fast. As a time machine back up, it backed up my hard drive in no time. You wouldn’t know it was refurbished if you looked at it carefully. But the price was a lot lower then a new drive.

Very satisfied with the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    


LaCie 2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt

2012-07-17
By Larry Pearson

I plugged in the little big disk and it was simple to set up. What would have taken hours to back up 167gigs took about 35 to 45 minutes. It is so small and the construction is very good. It will last a long time. I bought this refurbished and I was a little worried but everything works very well. That sounds a little funny but we all know that a hard drive can fail but the case I think will last forever. I have been using it for a couple of weeks and it is the hard drive that will be traveling around with me. Glad I purchased this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?    

Most Useful First  |  Most Recent First << Previous  |  Page 1 of 2  |  Next >>
< This Product
2TB Little Big Disk Thunderbolt - Refurbished
by LaCie
  (14)

Call Us
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Synology
DS713+ NAS 2BAY ALL-IN-1
by Synology
No Reviews
$554.99
Usually Ships Same Day
 

Get exclusive discounts on your favorite Apple products today!

Your Biggest Source for Everything Apple!

MacMall is the #1 Apple Direct Reseller. We sell more Apple-branded products than any other direct Apple reseller. Since 1987, MacMall has been supplying Mac computers, Mac software, iPods, iPad accessories, and more Apple brand products and consumer electronics to consumers, businesses, and creative professionals.

At MacMall, we understand the increasing demand for the best quality consumer products at huge discounted prices. That's why we are proud to offer the lowest prices on our extensive selection of best-selling products, and hard-to-find Mac and iPod products you crave. Get yourself the new iPad or the new Apple TV for your family. Looking to upgrade your MacBook? Or just want to find out the best suited iPod/iPhone accessories for your hot gadget? Keep your iPad up-to-date with function and technology with our line of top-brand iPad accessories. Compare brands. Equip your Apple products.

More than the innovative products, MacMall goes beyond commerce and into affordable, high-quality business solutions. From customized business sites to financing & leasing to software licensing, technology certifications, configuration services, packaged service programs, and more. Enjoy easy management, easy installation, and easy implementation. Discover a whole new way to create and re-create your business.

Plus, with our 24/7 customer service hotline, we're always just a phone call away no matter when you want to reach us. Get the MacMall Advantage. Don’t miss out on the best deals, special prices, rebate savings, exclusive bundles, and dedicated service you won’t find anywhere else!

Company

About Us
MacMall Blog
The Mall Report
Business Direct Login
Careers
Join Our Affiliate Network
MacMall Business Solutions
MacMall Advantage
Terms of Use and Sale
Privacy Policy
Site Map

Customer Service

Contact Us
Rebates
Subscribe
Unsubscribe
Order Status

Follow Us

 
Apple Authorized Reseller Entrust bbb Tool Twist

Participating store

1940 E. Mariposa Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245 800.MACMALL © 2015 MacMall